A Super Simple Summer Soup Recipe

I must say that summer is a glorious thing. Even when it is filled to the brim with activity, it can feel like such a welcome change from the rest of the year. I feel very blessed to be on summer holidays right now. It seems hard to believe that the first month of holidays is already almost over. Time has been flying by.

I have done many wonderful things in my holidays so far.

I have enjoyed having more time to just do fun things with Ricky- watch a movie or go biking or roast hot dogs or play Spikeball in the park.

IMG_0781

I got to attend the weddings of two of my best friends. It was beautiful to see them so happy. I do need to work on my wedding photography skills though. These are pretty much the only pictures I took of the brides. They were truly beautiful brides. (They are truly beautiful every day.)

I also got to spend a week in the States with Ricky’s Schrock family. This was a lot of fun and much less nerve-wracking than I thought it might be. We played lots of Spikeball, watched fireworks, and shot some guns at targets. It was pretty awesome.

IMG_0725
You will just have to trust that this picture was taken in Wisconsin and that there were Schrocks surrounding us. They just aren’t in the picture. 

I loved spending a Saturday morning with my friend Meghan who came home from Faith Builders for a little while. Sitting by beautiful dark water with her and discussing everything that she is learning and thinking was a very refreshing experience. Also, we may have found the world’s tiniest toad.

I got to teach Bible school and enjoyed working with younger students again. I also enjoyed the time that I got to spend driving there and back with my little sister Wendy.

All in all, this summer has been wonderfully busy and simple.

You may be beginning to wonder if the “soup” in this post’s title was not actually referring to soup. In some ways this blog post itself is like soup- a mixture of this and that thrown together. But I was actually referring to soup.

Another thing that I have enjoyed about this summer is that it finally feels like things are settling down enough for me to spend some time doing house-wifey sorts of things: jam-making, cleaning, sewing, and cooking.

One thing that I made recently is this soup:

IMG_9370

The website that the recipe was on called it “Creamy Zucchini and Carrot Soup”, but I prefer to think of it as “Super Simple Summer Soup”.

I call that because for one thing, it was very simple to make. I didn’t have enough milk (it seems that we are always either running out of milk or trying to use it up because we have too much), so I put extra chicken broth and a bit of water in instead of a full two cups of milk. I also added a few some seasonings, and could probably have added a bit more than I did. I threw peppers in there too, and they were delicious. I have the feeling that you could toss as many vegetables in there as you want to, and it would only get better and better.

The word summer is in the title because it strikes me as being a somewhat summery soup. It was light and delicious and full of veggies. The zucchini is so wonderful in here. I am so glad that I remembered that zucchini exists. (I frequently forget about the existence of some foods, and get quite excited when I remember them. Squash. Sweet potatoes. Cabbage. These have all been forgotten vegetables at some point.)

Here is the link for the recipe: http://www.hoteatsandcoolreads.com/2014/03/creamy-zucchini-and-carrot-soup-recipe.html

Recipe Tip: This soup looks particularly lovely when eaten from a green mug. The green in the mug will bring out the green in the zucchini. Another coordinating food to consider pairing with this soup is grilled cheese with pickles. The green and orange of the soup will be accented by that of the grilled cheese and pickles. It is quite lovely. 

IMG_9372

 

 

 

 

5 thoughts on “A Super Simple Summer Soup Recipe

  1. I like writing soup poems and eating soup. Thanks for the soup blog! …and let me know if you ever get sick of me commenting. 😛 🙂

  2. I love so many things about this. That you did another blog post. The photo reminder of the fact that you taught me that chopped tomatoes make hotdogs way better than ordinary. How you lined up the tiny soup crackers so artfully on the edge of your beautiful white soup bowl of lovely super simple summer soup. All that alliteration. Remembering the fun of having you along in this year’s TODR. And, I suppose the thing I love the most is that I get to call you daughter-in-law!

    1. This is such a nice comment! Thank you! And I feel as though I must confess that it was Ricky who did the actual placing of the crackers in the soup bowl.

Leave a comment